PSL 2020: Two-time winners Islamabad take on reigning champs Quetta in Rawalpindi | Sports


Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium to play host to Islamabad United and Quetta Gladiators. Photo: File 

Cricket action turns to Rawalpindi as two-time winners Islamabad United take on defending champions Quetta Gladiators at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium today.

Sitting on second and third, both Islamabad and Quetta have four points from three games, having won two games each and losing one.

Heavyweights of the tournament, Islamabad United lifted the inaugural title in 2016 and then in 2018. They finished fourth in 2017 and third in 2019.

Gladiators were the runners-up for the first two consecutive years — in 2016 and 2017. They finished fourth in 2018 and won the championship last year.

Led by Shadab Khan, United has one of the strongest teams on paper with the likes of Luke Ronchi, Phil Salt, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Musa and Ruman Raees in the squad.

The Sarfaraz Ahmed-led Quetta Gladiators have another strong squad with the likes of all-rounder Shane Watson, Jason Roy, Azam Khan, Mohammad Hasnain and Sohail Khan in their squad.

The match between Islamabad United and Quetta Gladiators will begin at 7pm.


Islamabad United: Shadab Khan (captain), Faheem Ashraf, Asif Ali, Luke Ronchi, Hussain Talat, Amad Butt, Musa Khan, Dale Steyn, Colin Ingram, Colin Munro, Rumman Raees, Rizwan Hussain, Phil Salt, Zafar Gohar, Akif Javed, Ahmed Safi Abdullah, Saif Badar, Dawid Malan

Quetta Gladiators: Sarfaraz Ahmed (captain), Mohammad Nawaz, Shane Watson, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hasnain, Ahsan Ali, Naseem Shah, Jason Roy, Ben Cutting, Fawad Ahmed, Sohail Khan, Tymal Mills, Abdul Nasir, Arish Ali Khan, Azam Khan, Keemo Paul, Khurram Manzoor, Zahid Mehmood

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here