PSL 2020: Karachi Kings face Islamabad United in Rawalpindi | Sports


Photo: Karachi Kings

Two-time champions Islamabad United take on Karachi Kings at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium on Sunday.

Sitting on the fifth spot on the points table, the Kings have so far have had an unimpressive tournament, having managed to win only one of three games so far.

The Kings’ lone win of the tournament so far came against Peshawar Zalmi, beating them by 10 runs in a seat-edge thriller at the National Cricket Stadium. Unable to build on the momentum, the Imad Wasim-led side slumped to a five-wicket loss to Quetta Gladiators and thrashed by 52 runs by Multan Sultans.

On the other hand, United sit on the third spot after playing five matches. They notched up two wins after being beaten by Quetta in the opening game of the tournament. The Shadab Khan-led team defeated Multan by eight wickets, followed by one wicket win against Lahore.

Islamabad lost their next game by five wickets to Quetta while their game against Peshawar on Saturday was abandoned without a ball being bowled.

Lead by young leg-spinner Shadab Khan, United boasts the likes of experienced foreign and national players. From South African pacer Dale Steyn to Colin Ingram, adding master-blaster Luke Ronchi to the mix, with a pinch of Phil Salt and David Munro, United have a perfect blend.

Adding to that are a local crop of all-rounders such as Faheem Ashraf and Hussain Talat, with Mohammad Musa and Ruman Raees bringing the pace.

On the other hand, Karachi will be depending a lot on Babar Azam to provide them with a strong platform. With the likes of Alex Hales, Sharjeel Khan and Awais Zia, Mohammad Rizwan in the batting department and Mohammad Amir, Umaid Asif and Chris Jordan in the bowling department, one can expect an epic match between the two sides today.

The match between Islamabad United and Karachi Kings will be played at 7pm.


Islamabad United: Shadab Khan (captain), Luke Ronchi (wk), Ahmad Butt, Faheem Ashraf, Asif Ali, Hussain Talat, Muhammad Musa, Rizwan Hussain, Dale Steyn, Colin Ingram, Colin Munro, Rumman Raees, Zafar Gohar, Phil Salt, Akif Javed, Dawid Malan, Saif Badar, Ahmed Safi Abdullah

Karachi Kings: Imad wasim (captain), Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Amir, Aamir Yamin, Usama Mir, Umer Khan, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Sharjeel Khan, Cameron Delport, Ali Khan, Chadwick Walton, Umaid Asif, Mitchell McClenaghan, Awais Zia, Arshad Iqbal

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here